From the time I was little, I loved dream catchers.

16 Feb

There was something about them that captivated me, and I found that, when done correctly, their tiny details were eye-catching. Now, I’ve met a man (and no, not my fiance, this man is like a favorite uncle, or a second father-figure) who has rekindled my love of dream catchers. I’m trying to find one I like and that I can afford to hang from my rear view mirror, as I do need to take down my high school tassel and senior cord from marching band that currently dominate my mirror seeing as I’m a junior in college. Seeing as all of the ones I love on Etsy are over $30 and I am a broke college student, I’m debating making my own. I really, really like the designs, like this, that incorporate vines as the outer circle, and those would definitely be in my budget – I know where I can get some fresh vine clippings for free without damaging a public place or invading private property (my best friend has acres of land). I already have a ton of embroidery floss for the web in the middle, as well as some leather scraps and glass beads I can use. I don’t want a large dream catcher, and I own a parakeet, so I could use the feathers he loses to decorate. This sounds like it will work out nicely… I plan on having a DIY up after I finish my dream catcher, though it may be a little while with all these tests I have coming up; so until then, here are the instructions I plan to use on how to weave the web in the center of the vines.

7 Responses to “From the time I was little, I loved dream catchers.”

  1. lovelylittleblog February 16, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Thank you for following me (: I have a similar obsession with dream catchers! I’d love to see how your dream catcher turns out!

    • emilyelisabeth91 February 17, 2012 at 12:12 am #

      You are very welcome! I’ll definitely be posting pictures whenever I manage to have time to actually make it.

  2. jessielansdel February 17, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    That sounds beautiful. So much better than shop bought and unique to you. thanks for following me. I dabble in crafts as well, card making mostly. So I expect this blog will be just my cup of ( very English) tea. 🙂

    Jess.

    • emilyelisabeth91 February 17, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      I had such a hard time finding a nice store bought one, though Etsy did have a lovely one that used a horseshoe as the outer ring which I adored, but it was out of my price range. I plan on having more crafts up, so I hope you enjoy! I’ve tried card making before, and I enjoy it, but it’s not my strong point. Thank you for following!

  3. Vilipend February 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    You should totally make it yourself! It would make it more meaningful and it’ll give you a fun activity to do. Also, happy upcoming birthday!

    • emilyelisabeth91 February 17, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      I’m actually working on it right now! Thank you 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dream Catcher DIY « Take Flight - February 18, 2012

    […] those of you who read this post, I managed to find time to sit back and relax on my Friday evening, and I took the time to […]

Comments are closed.

