Dream Catcher DIY

18 Feb

For those of you who read this post, I managed to find time to sit back and relax on my Friday evening, and I took the time to make my dream catcher! I took some pictures along the way so I could show you how I did it, and hopefully give you some tips so you can learn from my mistakes! The best part of this? It is completely customizable! Use an embroidery hoop, a plastic ring from a pop bottle, a horseshoe (which I want to do next), anything to create the “frame” of the dream catcher, and use any color and any sort of string, thread, ribbon, rope that you desire, and you can add so many different decorations. I spent a whopping $2.50 on this project, as I either a. had what I needed or b. got it free (as in the twigs I used from a vine-y tree); the feathers were the only thing I had to purchase, and the $2.50 was for fifty feathers at WalMart.

What you need:

  • Flexible twigs/branches/vines that are sturdy, but bendable. Or, something circular shaped that you would like for the outside of your dream catcher.
  • String of some sort. I used embroidery floss, but this is all up to your personal taste.
  • Glue (Elmer’s School Glue works perfectly fine)
  • Scissors
  • Feathers (optional)
  • Beads (optional)
  • This site for the exact instructions I followed for weaving the web. They explain it really well, however I did alter some steps.

I don’t have a picture of this, but the first thing I did was tie the ends of my three small branches together and braid them loosely together. I took the ends of the string that I had tied them together with and tied the branches together to form a circle.

Here is my original circle, with my ring (size 9) inside of it to show you a relative size:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a close up of the braid. Please ignore my nails that are clearly in need of a paint job.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I created a loop knot and tied it on to the part of the circle that I had tied together. My first “stitch” is shown in the picture on the right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I followed the directions on this site to continue “stitching” around the outside of the circle, as well as to weave the rest of the dream catcher.
From left to right you see 1. the end of my first row; 2. the first stitch of my second row; and 3. my completed second row.

On some dream catchers, I have seen a bead woven in around the second row to represent a “spider” in the web. Just string the bead on and continue as usual if you wish to do this.

 

 

Here’s a close up on how to create the loops; it’s the same one repeated throughout the entire dream catcher:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My completed web. On the website I followed, the instructions said to leave the excess string hanging and to hang your feathers off of it; however I trimmed the string and glued the edge to keep my knot from coming undone. (On my final stitch, I tied an actual knot instead of just looping the string back through itself, as shown previously.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To tie on feathers, I took three different colors of embroidery floss and simply double knotted the floss around each feather; one knot on either side of the feather and then added a miniscule drop of glue to keep the feather from slipping out and the knot from coming undone (I did not add felt as the site I used suggested). I must emphasize this point: make sure to keep your feathers facing down from the dream catcher during this point! Otherwise, you’ll get feathers that stick out at funny angles (I learned this the hard way…). You can also add on beads, if you would like.
Here, I have each row of feathers I added; my first (middle) section with three feathers, and then my left and right sections, each with two feathers. The amount of feathers is totally up to you; I used seven and strung them up in a scattered way while my best friend used three with the middle feather at the lowest point with the ones on the left and right at the same, shorter height.

And voilla! The finished product:
It’s kind of…rustic and imperfect, but I love it, and I plan to hang it from my rearview mirror in my truck (for anyone who cares, it’s a 1994 red Chevy S10 ZR2 special for off roading…I love my first vehicle). At this point, I highly suggest going back over each and every knot with a dab of glue to seal it and to prevent it from coming apart! I wouldn’t want to lose all of that hard work, and I’m sure you wouldn’t, either.

So go, have fun and create your own dream catchers to insure a peaceful night’s sleep. With forty feathers remaining, I’m certain I’ll be making more of these in my free time. Spring break, perhaps?

2 Responses to “Dream Catcher DIY”

  1. jessielansdel February 18, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Rustic and imperfect, so it’s unique. It’s lovely. Well done. And the sense of achievement when you’ve made something yourself is soooo satisfying.

    • emilyelisabeth91 February 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you very much! I really enjoy creating things; I find it so exciting to see how something changes from just an array of supplies into a beautiful final piece. That sense of achievement really is satisfying!

Comments are closed.

