Morning Mixtape

23 Feb

For February 23, 2012, complete with links to YouTube! I tried to get the official video, but if I couldn’t find it, I made do with what I had.

1. “Feeling Good” – Michael Bublé
The horn section in this song is amazing, and the dynamic changes throughout only add to the song.
Breeze driftin’ on by
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good

2. “God Gave Me You” – Blake Shelton
I don’t care what your opinion on country music is, go watch the very beginning (and end) of this video. It is the sweetest thing.
‘Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you

3. “Conspiracy Theory” – Nick Jonas and the Administration
Very fun song.
Like it, or leave it
Better hit the road
“Cause the word that we know
Is gonna fade away now

4. “Never Gonna Leave This Bed” – Maroon 5
I’ve loved this band since Songs About Jane, and I think they’ve only gotten better.
Wake you up
In the middle of the night to say
I will never walk away again
I’m never gonna leave this bed

5. “I Don’t Want This Night to End” – Luke Bryan
I can’t explain why, but this is one of my favorite songs right now.
Gonna cuss the morning when it comes
Cause I know that the rising sun
Ain’t no good for me
Cause you’ll have to leave

6. “I Like How it Feels” – Enrique Iglesias ft. Pitbull
It’s, well, a feel good song. And he’s a funny man.
It’s my time, It’s my life, I can do what I like
For the price of a smile,
I got a ticket to ride,
So I keep living, ’cause it feels right
And it’s so nice,
And I’d do it all again

7. “Criminal” – Britney Spears
I’m not a huge Britney fan, but I do like this song of hers. I included the lyric video, because the actual video requires you to have a YouTube account and to sign in due to its violent nature.
But mama I’m in love with a criminal
And this type of love isn’t rational, it’s physical
Mama please don’t cry
I will be alright
All reason aside
I just can’t deny
Love the guy

8. “Rumor Has It” – Adele
This is just a fun song. Give it a shot.
Bless your soul, you’ve got your head in the clouds,
She made a fool out of you,
And, boy, she’s bringing you down

9. “Fly Me to the Moon” – Frank Sinatra
You can’t go wrong with Sinatra.
Fill my heart with song,
Let me sing forever more

10. “Ain’t That a Kick in the Head” – Dean Martin
My grandpap loved Dean Martin, and I don’t blame him. I love this style of music, especially first thing in the morning while I’m getting ready and I woke up in a good mood.
How lucky can one guy be;
I kissed her and she kissed me
Like the fella once said,
Ain’t that a kick in the head?

11. “How ‘Bout Them Cowgirls” – George Strait
And he’s talking about those real cowgirls, not the ones who wear cowboy boots with their sundresses and have never seen the inside of the barn, or the ones who spend $50,000 on their horse, never had a hand in training said horse, and pay the grooms to tack up and groom their horse.
Boy, she don’t need you and she don’t need me
She can do just fine on her own two feet
But she wants a man who wants her to be herself
And she’ll never change, don’t know how to hide
Her stubborn will or her fightin’ side
But you treat her right and she’ll love you like no one else

12. “Carrying Your Love With Me” – George Strait
I’m a fan of George Strait, and I find this song very appropriate with my fiancé being in South America.
It’s my strength for holdin’ on
Every minute that I have to be gone
I’ll have everything I’ll ever need
I’m carrying your love with me

13.”Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert
Spending the past three years in the South for college, I can understand what she means when she says “doesn’t matter how you feel, it only matters how you look” with how big the pageants are here. It amazes me that people actually are that caught up in pageants…
Can’t get revenge and keep a spotless reputation
Sometimes revenge is a choice you gotta make
My mama came from a softer generation
Where you get a grip and bite your lip just to save a little face

4 Responses to “Morning Mixtape”

  1. lovelylittleblog February 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Nice choices! I’m so predictable and LOVE Adele, she’s so talented, as well as almost everyone you have listed with exception of Nick Jonas. I tried but could never get in to him for some reason!

    • emilyelisabeth91 February 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Nick Jonas’ solo album caught my attention and I actually really enjoy it. He took influences from some really great artists, and it shows.

  2. Dreamreflector February 28, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    You have a great taste in music! C:

Comments are closed.

