Taylor Swift shows off her “curves” in Australia

6 Mar

May I ask…what curves? I cannot stand when Hollywood calls figures like that curvy. The whole article is here, but does anyone else see a problem with this? Society is warping the female’s perspective of self even more so now if they are calling that body curvy. I see no curves on her. Sure, she dips in a little bit in the middle, but that is not my idea of curvy. A curvy woman has real curves, curves that are noticeable…curves over her whole body. Full hips, full breasts, strong arms and legs.That is a curvy woman.

I’d like to take a moment to look at Demi Lovato and Christina Aguilera. Both of them have been skinny in the past. Looking at them now, in 2012, they are my definition of curvy.

Looking first at Demi, she looks so much healthier now that she’s gained some weight, and on top of that she looks more mature, and sexy. Looking at the clothes she was wearing prior to her weight gain, she looks more comfortable with herself now, and she actually looks very happy. I know that you could argue she looks more mature because she has gotten older, but I personally believe its more than that. She looks filled out – like a woman should. A lot of these women that tabloids, Hollywood, paparazzi, what have you, are calling “curvy” (looking most recently at Miss Swift) look as though they have the bodies of a girl who has not yet matured. Have a look at these two pictures of Demi, one from Seventeen, and one from the red carpet, and tell me where you think she looks healthier and happier.

Personally, I think it would be the picture on the left, from Seventeen.

Can we do the same thing with Christina? I don’t know how old she was in either of these pictures, nor do I know when they are from, but that’s not what I’m trying to compare. One was found on a website looking at different hairstyles Christina has had throughout her career while the other was found on Fanpop. Looking first at the one on the right, I will not deny that she’s pretty – she always has been. but she seems a little disproportionate to me. Her arms and stomach look too small for the rest of her. Sure, she has boobs, but just having boobs alone does not make a female curvy.

Now let’s look at this one to the left. She’s bigger, yes, but she’s showing more skin than when she was smaller (…well, once again, just comparing the two pictures. She wasn’t exactly modest when she was smaller). She also reminds me more of what I would see walking around campus, or going to the store. In other words, she looks more like a woman in society looks like, more so than a celebrity. Look at her arms. Those are strong arms. Her face is fuller. She’s curvy here.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that women who are bigger are prettier than those who are smaller. I think that we should focus on being body-positive, not saying a certain type of body is “better” than others. I believe that magazines with “Whose Celebrity Diet Works the Best and Worse” titles, showing a celebrity who has gained weight with their face blacked out and “Guess who?” implanted in the circle only encourage the eating disorders our society struggles with.

I don’t want to get started on the Photoshop debate, but a lot of these models and celebrities we’re looking at in magazines have been photoshopped, and they’re giving women an impossible “ideal” to try to reach. But anyways, back to my initial rant. Taylor Swift in the included picture is NOT curvy. I would not consider Demi nor Christina curvy in their respective pictures on the right. On the left, however, both Demi and Christina fit my definition of a “curvy” woman. And guess what? They’re both beautiful like that. Curvy does not equal fat. Curvy does not equal ugly. Curvy women are just as beautiful as skinny women, and they shouldn’t be ashamed of their body because they’re bigger.

3 Responses to “Taylor Swift shows off her “curves” in Australia”

  1. The Weight Run Down March 6, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    I agree. Curvy is sexy!!

  2. Jessa Lynn March 6, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    I loved this! It is very true Miss. Swift isn’t truly curvy, and no one shape for the female form is better than another. ALL WOMEN are BEAUTIFUL the way they were made!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taylor Swift shows off her “curves” in Australia « Take Flight - March 6, 2012

    […] Click here to read more Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Comments are closed.

