I found the greatest fall cookie recipe ever.

14 Oct

These cookies perfectly capture that “fall” flavor. I can’t accurately describe it. Pumpkin-y. Cinnamon-y. Absolutely delicious. I found the recipe at BakerGirl for these cinnamon pumpkin spice kiss blossoms. Yum. My mom and I made them while I was home for fall break. We both decided we had a new favorite fall cookie, even though the kisses on their own were incredibly strong. I’m not going to copy and paste the recipe here, because you have got to see the fantastic pictures over at Baker Girl. They literally make your mouth water.

Oh, and I was too happy munching on cookie dough and finished cookies to remember to take my own pictures…

But here’s the break down, you need basic cookie making ingredients. And spices. And these delicious orange pumpkin spice Hershey kisses. Oh, if you’re having trouble finding them, look at Target. It was the only place I could find them.

There was just one minor thing we did differently – we didn’t have nutmeg and ginger, but there was an easy fix for that. It’s called pumpkin pie spice, and we used about one teaspoon, along with the two teaspoons of cinnamon. We also decided to do the swirly kiss look, because I plan on taking some of these delicious morsels back to my University, and we figured they’d travel easier that way. We also decided that any time we made drop cookies, the chocolate-y flavor was not dispersed enough over the cookie. Or it fell off. Which always made me sad.

When I had my first cookie, I also thought that some crushed walnuts would be delicious in the dough. Not a bunch, just enough to give them that crunchy, nutty flavor that I also love in the fall. And to top them off, I thought they’d look positively pretty with a whole walnut set on top of the melted, swirly pumpkin kiss. Didn’t do this, but it was definitely a suggestion for next time since mom and I both love walnuts in cookies.

So that was my experience with these yummy cookies. Try them. Baking cookies is a great family bonding activity, and these are definitely worth the effort.

